So I can finally read all of the TLJ spoilers and reactions I’ve been half avoiding. 

I didn’t have a terrible time – well, except for cringing away from the screen at being forced to watch Ben and therefore also making more than half the Rey scenes terrible for me. But I’m glad I’m not a big SW fan anymore. It wasn’t nearly as bad an experience as watching JL – but it couldn’t get anywhere close to the enjoyment when watching any DCEU film.

I did get a little teary up internally at the Star Wars opening crawl fanfare- but that was mostly because of PT nostalgia.

Okay, here are my assorted thoughts immediately after watching The Last Jedi:

It wasn’t as terrible as the worst warnings- but it wasn’t as good as to be worth critical acclaim – and not a deep movie needing re-watching to be appreciated or any great and engaging themes. Was I as dissatisfied as after The Force Awakens? Probably not, because I was mentally checking out as the film was rolling and before.

The big one: until the final sequence when and after Kylo Ren assumes his place as Supreme Leader, I was rolling my eyes or barely able to watch the screen when he was on it. I am not joking. I was forcing myself to watch with only one eye open because holy fuck did I not want to watch this character. I don’t care about any allegations of Luke’s ruined character (which- they made him Yoda without hope as I knew they would from the beginning of TFA, so whatever poor characterization choices and logic holes are just inherited from TFA, like the fucking terrible limited Resistance versus a First Order that they say is in-universe a fringe group and yet has resources of the Empire and of which the destruction of the Starkiller base had zero impact on them how?)

General Hondo – hated her. Hated her character design (purple hair and impractical drapey dress), hated that plot hole time waste red herring POORLY written. oh, I won’t say the escape ships with having cloaking because ….why? So we can have Poe and audience not trust her/try to make a big reveal of her actual plan? (which I was expecting more than just ‘cloaking’) So we can make a statement about posturing and figureheads and hope versus being your own hero and yet completely miss the point or go back on your point. To have a critique of the rich and powerful autocrats and yet our mutineers are wrong and the sole leader coming in and not sharing any information with those under them is right and shouldn’t need to share info with the proles.

Poe is a hothead pilot now for this movie? sure.

Felt like it was written as ‘see how the male character doesn’t trust a woman in power’ but it felt poorly done and the slapping was uncomfortable and yes drag the movie for this

The casino was pointless. It tried to be Mos Eisley Cantina. Wasn’t. Special Effects were terrible for it and the horse things. The scum hacker guy was annoying. Ah yes, I get what he was supposed to be, foil for Finn’s arc.

FUCKING HELL – that the opening several scenes with Finn were playing him as the comedic butt of jokes. That enraged me.

Ben Solo was not attractive. He wasn’t engaging.  All the ‘rey-lo’ subtext scenes were *bleuch* 

Look, her motivation depended on that she was inspired and buying into this myth/story of Luke Skywalker who redeemed his father Darth Vader- as if she had watched the OT. Which only works if that story is widely known in detail throughout the galaxy. but then the Ben Solo idolizing Vader or not knowing the Anakin Skywalker reveal until Snoke told him- if that’s the supplementary info- makes no sense. Also, Ben’s Snoke-motivated turn to the Dark Side? ARE we going to actually get any info on that? It seemed like something that would have been important for this plot.

Salt Planet Crait with the red versus white was a visual decision that made that last third of that movie worth watching.

Paige’s opening scene and having her grieving sister Rose was excellent.

So we purposefully avoided having Finn and Rey meet up in Snoke’s Ship? …O..kay.

Every time a Porg died or was shooed away I cheered in the theater

The Millennium Falcon sweeping in to wreck the FO and Kylo felt like the arrival of Han Solo’s vengeful ghost and I loved it.

The Force mental projection shit was bullshit for me for all the Rey/Kylo scenes but also I was mentally and physically raising a middle finger for all of that. But having the twist that Luke was doing it at great mental cost I did like- it explained how he survived the fired at by everything and other things, so I liked it. But arbitrary okay end of this episode we have to kill off the next member of the trio. Episode IX is gonna be AWKWARD.

Unless sweeper boy is reborn Anakin Skywalker- I don’t care and nor did I see it as a Force belongs to everyone know scene because guess what, That Already Was a Concept that slave boy can have Force powers – did y’all not watch TPM? But yeah- the galatic super special dynasty of Skywalkers DOESN’T MAKE SENSE IN-UNIVERSE as this logn trope when it is literally only slave boy from nowhere with nothing becomes Emperor’s right hand man but nobody knows that’s him or anything about who he was/came from- then his son who was a nobody farmer boy from planet deathworld of zero importance. It fell into the trap of treating characters in-universe like the viewing public pop culture thinks of them.

Yoda was obviously supposed to look like ESB puppet Yoda- because he looked like shit.

WoT anon here, again. I’ve read past the fourth book, so I’m pretty sure I know what you’re talking about. :/ I sort of went in knowing, though–I’d also heard that the books approach to gender could be pretty weird, and that the later books drop off in quality until Sanderson picked them up. I’m hitting the part where that’s supposed to happen right around now. This actually stopped me from reading them for a while. It was slow going at first but after I hit book3 I couldn’t stop.

Hello, WoT anon! Happy to hear from you again! I’ve been informed via reblogs that yes, there is a Wheel of Time fandom and it’s uncommonly attractive or something like that ;p

Okay! The thing to know with books 5-10 is while people with -in some cases rightfully- complain about a drop in quality, personally they also had some of my favorite scenes and arcs as well. Like what a lot of various female characters get up to- Nynaeve, Elayne, Egwene, Siuan… Matt has fun adventures here. Perrin and Faile’s arc in around book nine if I remember correct … it does stretch out and a lot of readers found it too slow- I was okay with it but also I never disliked Faile.

The big one for plot pacing dragging that people gripe about is that book ten covers only a short time frame after book nine and has a quite a bit of characters that weren’t around for the really big climatic thing that happened at the end of book nine reacting to it. And that was a book where again there was almost no on-screen Rand (which I wasn’t complaining). 

The big thing is Rand. IDK if you are finding Rand’s chapters and arcs to be less enjoyable or not. I will say quite a lot of Rand’s chapters in Book Four are excellent – I loved the flashback sequences and you do get something similar later on. But I preferred him -ironically for our main protagonist- as he was in Book Three, as this off-screen figure whom the plot still revolved around. Vaguely how Sauron is in LotR. And there will be a book each where Perrin or Matt is almost completely absent. Readers did complain. Not I.

Yes, there will be plot stretches that are slow (and you can tell by what chapter icon image is at the start 😉 ) Bare with it if you still enjoy most of the series, though.

I’m not someone to go deep into analyzing fiction for gender issues, but I can say personally reading them as a teen and young adult -compared to other fantasy I read- it wasn’t any worse and in some ways better. Subjective tastes and all that- only you will know if it bothers you.

Also are you having fun with the mysteries like Min’s prophecies and catching all the myth and story references/nods (I especially liked the Arthurian and the Norse and tiny bit of Slavic mythology surrounding the main characters)?

Just remember – Bela is the Avatar of the Creator, and the Dark One is Narg. And you have to love Loial.

Turns out we are waiting for final sibling to get in for the holidays until going to see The Last Jedi. Ironically she’s the most causal Star Wars fan in the family and probably the most excited to go see it. Rest of us are various shades of reluctant.

sandoakato:

Hísimë – Dior & Elwing

10/22 – 11/20 | 十一月,星雾流离

“父亲,跟我一起走!”

“埃尔汶,我会来找你的。”

那是一次永别,世界在前,故国在后。埃尔汶离开了多瑞亚斯,迪奥在身后望着她。他回头面对风沙中的战场,那将是他的宿命。

她梦到深秋的多瑞亚斯,茂密而繁盛,虫鸣与露水把她装点得更加绚丽。琉璃台阶之上,国王迪奥,继承了露西恩惊人的美。

风尘仆仆,她想,海水抚摸着她的脚踝,梦中的城堡消失不见。

“埃兰迪尔,你刚刚说要对我女儿做什么?你再说一遍。”

salty asks #27 gooo

27. Least shippable character?

Ohh. interesting because could go either of a few ways- which character in fandom doesn’t get any ships, just doesn’t read as interested in romantic relationships, or has a lot of a ships but I have zero interest in shipping said character because I don’t like that character?

For instance, Star Wars: Luke Skywalker reads as ace to me, but if pressed, I am more open to semi-crack shipping him with Han or Lando (Luke/Lando I think has unexplored opportunities). Lando is rarely considered in fandom shipping compared to the other major characters. I don’t ship Palpatine with anyone nor think it feasible. And while he’s a big cornerstone of Sequel Series ship wars, I hate Kylo Ren/Ben Solo and his character and the decisions writing around him -and I haven’t even seen The Last Jedi- so there’s not a single ship I want to ship him in. (Unless through him on the trash fire with Kyp Durron and post-Vong Jacen Solo and let them be that unappealing character types and arcs together)

Silm –  Eru Ilúvatar for least shippable.;p And Ulmo. 

I also don’t ship Haleth.