Not going to lie, I find it genuinely weird to contemplate anything where the Green Lantern character isn’t just an amusing ensemble member, much less the idea that there’s whole series or whatever about it. The whole Lantern-ring schtick always seemed really cheap and uninteresting to me compared to the more individualized powers/backstories of other superheroes.

Whereas honestly I find stories were Green Lantern is just another rando in the Justice League to be jarringly out-of-place. And that for me his backstory and powers only work when he has an entire corp (and competing or complementary corps) of similar powers, and the stories are about not him (or her) as a superhero, but as this psuedo-magic/science empowered police/interpol agent. That this isn’t a superhero vigilante gig but a day job. That he has to report to bosses, work with co-workers and partners, that there might be paperwork to fill out, etc… The SF spin on something familiar to make it extraordinary. Anything that makes the GL unique and therefore interesting enough to read about is either the full on space opera and space adventures, or the space cop stuff. When he’s just ensemble superhero dude with a piece of tech that provides morphable powers, at that point you can go grab Blue Beetle instead for something more interesting.

50 theon/jeyne pls

samwpmarleau:

50. “I still think you’re beautiful.”

Her childhood seems like a lifetime ago. Winterfell seems like a lifetime ago. The Winterfell she used to know, that is. She can scarcely believe it was only a couple years ago she was calling Arya names and fantasizing about her future husband with Sansa. It all seems so frivolous now, so stupid.

They had both been so sure their husbands would be good men, handsome ones, that they’d live their lives happy with a dozen children. What fools they were. She has Ramsay, and Sansa…well, no one knows where Sansa is anymore. Probably dead like everyone else.

It is strange, what she remembers from then, what sticks with her. So many memories have faded away now. She can hardly even remember Sansa’s face. Gods only know why she remembers that one day with Theon, a meaningless blip of a conversation so long ago, but she does. She had been upset that one of the boys in the yard had called her hair ugly, of all things; she’d thought that was the worst insult the world could hurl at her, a boy saying he didn’t like her hair.

But it had mattered at the time, and a drunken Theon had found her weeping on one of the staircases and she’d told him what happened. And then he’d told her he thought she was beautiful. He’d promptly thrown up and stumbled off to his chambers, and she doubts he remembers it and certainly knows he wasn’t serious, but for some reason it’s stuck with her through all the pain and despair. Theon had called her pretty, once. She’s not so anymore, if ever she was. Yet still, somehow, she holds onto that night like a tether. That stupid, childish, meaningless night, the last vestige of her innocence.

Well, it’s a good thing that The Force Awakens killed my Star Wars love, or else all these The Last Jedi reactions (and I’m still trying to avoid spoilers) would have me worried.

The big problem is that yeah, I want something that isn’t TFA; I’m not invested in its mysteries, or the heavy pandering and reliance on nostalgia, but I hate Kylo Ren and I am not willing to put up with a story that exonerates him and says his plot line is the only one that matters. And that’s what it sounds like I’m getting. Which- dammit.

Because again- I’m getting reaction takes from serious BvS fans who are laughing at how there seems to be a similar audience backlash over making a character piece instead of nostalgic action movie, so am I going to get a movie with depth and heart, or am I walking out of the theater even more disappointed than TFA. I would say the anticipation is hurting me- but honestly? That would require caring about Star Wars again.

jewishdragon:

corkyfaust:

kalinara:

stephendann:

valarltd:

stephendann:

kalinara:

starlinginthesky:

forcedintostarwars:

People still think of Lando as “The Guy Who Betrayed The Trio” and that’s some grade A bull. 

I mean what would you do if you had people to protect and Darth Vader, Scariest Dude in the Galaxy, comes marching up to your door with a whole battalion of soldiers? Like? How much choice do you think he actually had here? Not much because Vader literally changes the rules on him every scene they’re together so the deal goes from “Trap the smuggler and his friends” to “Han’s being tortured and frozen in carbonite and taken away and the others that were supposed to be left untouched are also being taken capture indefinitely right now” and Lando has all of no control over any of it.

And then the second he realizes what’s happened he risks everything to help Chewie and Leia out. Leaves his cozy home to help them. Joins the Rebellion? Frees Han? Blows up the second Death Star?

But sure he’s just that sleaze ball who betrayed the gang. Sure. 

I do not trust people who rag on Lando.

Seriously?  Did they just sleep through Return of the Jedi?

Also, “They showed up here just before you did” gives us context to when Han arrives unannounced, and Lando tries to get Han to lose his cool and book out?

“ Why you slimy, double-crossing, no-good swindler. “

Lando opens with giving Han an excuse to say “Same to you Bantha herder, Chewie, we’re out”.  Lando insults a smuggler known for his pride, hoping to get a rise and a reaction and risks his life to try to insult Han off the trap

“ You got a lot of guts coming here, after what you pulled!”

Also, assume that Lando’s just been ambushed by the Empire, and told that Han Solo is headed here, and that it’s the same Han Solo who just ran a blockade on Hoth, and Hoth is within non-hyperdrive flight range of Bespin.

Lando literally opens with a coded “You ran an Imperial Blockade and now you’re flying in openly at the nearest system?”

If the Han Solo of ANH and, as recently as Hoth base (Who’s scruffy looking?), had been as a hot headed as Lando expected, he would have walked back up the ramp and flown off in a huff.  Lando tries to salvage the situation from before we even know there’s a problem

Lando was administrator and responsible for tens of thousands of lives. From the radio play “You should have looked around more, Han. You’d have recognized a lot of faces. A lot of people here are at the end of their ropes. This is their last chance for any kind of life.”

Yup. Lando’s actions are “Try to get Cloud City out this, try to get his friends out of this, try to get out of this himself, got out? EVACUATE THE CITY. Then save friends and self”

He could have flown off quietly, Lobot could have been instructed to prepare the escape vehicle. No, Lando gives the evac signal by announcing it’s him, and announcing the Empire has control of the city. Yeah, way to paint a target on your back there. No “Hit the fire alarm” button and run, no sneak off in the night.

Lando Calrissian was trying to save the most people possible without being willing to simply sacrifice his friends for the most efficient gain

Lando Calrissian is one of the most ethical characters in the original trilogy.  He was stuck between a rock and a hard place, but he also turned on Vader/helped Leia and Chewie as soon as he could do so.  We last see him in Empire setting off to help track down where Boba Fett took Han.

We see him next in Return of the Jedi, saving Han.  And then volunteering for a possibly suicidal mission.  Lando’s proven himself a hundred times over.

Bless you

Every time I rewatch return of the Jedi I have forgotten Lando blows up the second Death Star. HE FLIES THE FALCON INTO THE DEATH STAR

And I get to relive a great moment over and over

He saves the god damn Galaxy

yavieriel replied to your post “One of my favorite posts is still when @crocordile gave me a birthday…”

hey I actually read a handful of DC stuff and couldn’t have told you anything about any Green Lanterns other than one of them being a in-universe comics artist resulting in lots of meta-jokes and also there being some setting where there’s like… a bunch of different-colored rings with different powers or something?

Kyle~

Yeah I’m only reading the Green Lantern stuff of the Rebirth Era so I haven’t got around to reading all those essential GL books that established the modern mythos and the various colored rings that is standard GL world-building. But I watched the animated series -which is some of the best DC animation in the last decade or two for storytelling- and despite being technically a separate setting does explain more half the lantern corps and various characters.

Kyle was a graphic designer, the lantern that was heavily shilled in the 90s until Hal came back with the revamp of the Lantern mythos, and Kyle did make shoujo and other comic media jokes. He’s also main human GL that I know the least about and certainly care the least about. Very similar to Tim Drake, but at least he doesn’t have all the underlying ugly classism and victim blaming that Tim embodies. Just… painfully late 90s. The root of the ‘stuffed in a fridge’. And a crab mask. So it’s not like you know much less than me in that particular case.