yavieriel replied to your post:
One of my favorite posts is still when @crocordile…

I was just in it for Batman rescuing Superman from being tortured on Apokalipse

Well, that sort of happens in the animated JL movie, so yeah. DCEU version….ugh mixed to poor feelings about how so much of that film was executed. Well, the terrible reshoots and reworking of the script. But SuperBat fans who don’t mind MCU cheese could find many moments to cheer.

So yeah… ….”I don’t …not like you.”…. *rolls eyes*

We’ve already had the discussions of how I strongly dislike treating Clark and Bruce as archetypes instead of very human characters (and how that’s what appeals to you – we could not be diametrically opposed.) I won’t say SuperBat is my strongest NoTP in DC. Maybe into my list of the top five DC Comics NoTPs.  That relationship as something romantic or as a relationship weighing more than their personal canon strongest relationships ties -Lois and Robins respectively- is a very strong turn-off for me. The Superman story revolves around a few things and the romance with Lois Lane is probably the most central and the reason I am interested in his character, whereas it’s canon that Bruce Wayne would pick up a gun for Dick Grayson and argued against the destruction of the DC universe because of the goodness of Dick (and not Clark) – and anyways, I’m not here for Bruce really but for his children, especially his second son 😉 SuperBat feels like loosing all of these reasons to care about either character for something meh.

Don’t mind the parts of Hush, or like the most recent Batman issue where their friendship and the closeness or strain of it and how they do fit complementary but opposing heroic types, that has Supes and Bats together. But I prefer canon stories that don’t depend on a closeness between them. Now Jonathon Kent and Damian having a book together and having their friendship as something central to their characters? No problem. Me like. Bring on the Super-sons.

But as said, a good portion of the fan reaction to recent JL movie was focusing on SuperBats stuff. *shrugs*

lunarymagic

replied to your

post

:


Favorite middle earth food related head canon?

Another thought: the first thing Fëanor ever had upon reaching Middle-earth.

Are you daring me to try and get into the head of Fëanor, in particular a Fëanor in mode full-on paranoid fascist who just betrayed and abandoned the greater portion of his avowed subjects to land on a new continent of which he felt he had the right to claim and rule his own kingdom with complete disregard for the original inhabitants and their rights, not to mention after also spewing grossly xenophobic arguments painting another group of outsiders of whom his people had not even met [mortal men] but whom Fëanor was perfectly willing to scapegoat into dangerous enemies and usurpers of his people (and his rights) just to consolidate political power and a following under himself and not his brother or the rightful, lawful rulers of Arda? A paranoid asshole that has further diminished his chances of reasonably reaching his war objectives by …everything he’s done. Who lands on a land that is reasonable for one to assume that he has very little knowledge of, and therefore having no idea what he could eat in Middle-earth, if he could find any food there at all. A land of which he would have only ANY possible knowledge of where is safe to settle  and what is edible if thus: there are First Generation elves among his followers and the land hasn’t changed too much from the time of the Great Journey, and the rampaging orc armies haven’t destroyed what crops and wild game would have been available. Especially that last one. Also maybe if it isn’t too dissimilar from Fëanor’s ‘camping trips’ across Valinor, he would know how to cook wild game and how to hunt it, but -laughing wildly here- that one thinks he would find any foodstuffs right away in this wild new location (and damn it all, people, stop thinking of Fëanor’s trips as him actually roughing it like modern middle-class camping trips or the sort of solitary figure in the wilderness living with no outside help or supplies like Beren or Tuor had to do. He’s an elven prince and very touchy about his position as heir, and he was traveling throughout a literal protected and sheltered paradise with perpetual illumination. Stop projecting middle-class late 19th to 21 century bourgeoisie cultural norms like proliferation of servants. I know I can be guilty of that too, but seriously. Fëanor’s paranoia and ego will only remove some servants, not all. He wasn’t roughing it. He has no clue what he’s doing.)

And when he does make contact later on with some Avari Tatyar, the attitudes of his people and himself will alienate those Avari because the Noldor will refuse to see these elves as kinsmen and such condescending attitudes will damage chances of a partnership. So, no, he’s rejecting any offered Avari dish with a sneer.

What did he eat? Whatever was in the hold of the stolen Swan-ships before he torched them out of spite and fear of his own followers – remember he only brought the people he trusted with him to Middle-earth, but even those he didn’t trust not to ‘betray’ him and turn around and leave him by going back for his brother and the rest of the Noldor. Mistrustful doesn’t even begin to describe it. 

So he’s looking out to this mist-shrouded darkness arrogantly thinking of the wondrous kingdom he will build and claim as solely his own, a pure Noldor kingdom without contamination or oversight from other groups like the Valar or unsophisticated Teleri, eating the stolen luncheon of a murdered Teleri sailor. 

The real shocker will be if when I do get around to watching The Last Jedi with my family this weekend would be if I actually like it, especially if I like it more than anyone else in my family. 

Because Rogue One was decent but not inspiring any fannish appeal or devotion -I liked it more than my sister, oddly enough, adn she was the one far more excited for the film to come out. I wasn’t hyped for

The Force Awakens and after watching it, I felt no strong desire to ever re-watch it. I think my sister barely liked it more than me (she’s just as big a prequel buff as me, though more TPM where I’m AotC), and both my parents who are the old-school Star Wars fans were very unimpressed with the effects, the lack of any daring or novelty to the plot and world’s setting, or honestly any of the new characters. (Yes, one of my mom’s first complaints walking out of TFA was complaining that the practical effects were bad). 

And what do I really have to look forward to with TLJ? Finn is the only character I still give a damn about. I’ve resigned myself to knowing they won’t please me with decisions with Luke’s characterizations and arc and I haven’t seen it yet. Personally don’t care either way about Rey. The idea of Ben/Kylo Ren as a sympathetic character getting backed and supported by a narrative frankly infuriates me, and I don’t even hate him to the degree I know half the fandom does. That the other half of the fandom earnestly likes him however is a big disconnect. I anticipate Rose’s character and am priming myself for a Finn/Rose relationship, because can’t have the white female lead with the black (former) male lead – I suffered through Supergirl; I know how this works. I can only hope that the B-plot focusing on Finn does get enough screentime and weight to balance out all the Kylo I will be forced to sit through.

There’s no Lando. Taking guesses now if I’ll even get a namedrop of Lando at any point in this new trilogy.

And I’m still angry at studio meddling and playing safe with Justice League. No recent MCU film has given my actual enjoyment. The Star Wars brand itself is failing on me. The only parts of the trailers for TLJ I have given a single shit about have been Finn (and a sad but cold feeling seeing Carrie Fisher’s Leia and Mark’s Luke). And reviews and non-spoilery reactions haven’t changed my mind I know I will be going into the theater with the baggage of already not liking this film, not even the cautious hope of post-TFA of “Well, Episode VIII will definitely be an improvement and address my issues with VII”

Just so y’all are forewarned, once my sister comes down for the holidays bringing her copies of Batman Hush and Under the Hood so I don’t have to work from memory, I am writing that post where Elu Thingol is reading those arcs (hand wave imported from Numenor) and freaking out.

therearecertainshadesoflimelight:

yuehswind:

therearecertainshadesoflimelight:

officialoislane:

greatkunglao:

Lois Lane, Clark Kent, Bruce Wayne and Selina Kyle on a double date in upcoming Batman #37!

[X]

Clark is not dressed in any way to suggest he’s going to the same place as everyone else. Amaizng.

That’s part of his charm. Also, I may need to do a separate post in celebration of Clay Mann’s Lois Lane because she is a fucking revelation.

I want to love this picture but I hate that Lois is in one of those unrealistic, back breaking poses.

I’m sorry but I disagree with this so intensely that it needs to be addressed. I don’t agree that that art is a “back breaking pose.” At all. That looks like a dress that I would wear out if I was going out with my husband and it looks like how a 30 something Woman might stand when she was feeling herself. Context is important here. I see why you would say this but I just do not agree.

Lois Lane is not an inherently sexualized female character. In fact, it’s often the opposite. Misogyny often dictates that she’s actually de-sexualized because culture generally doesn’t like to allow business women/serious career women to also be sexy. Too often she’s stripped of her sexuality by men and male artists who can’t conceive of a woman like that turning Superman on. There is a shit ton of misogyny surrounding Lois distinctly because she’s not a male gaze fantasy. Men like to position her as the dowdy woman in a suit next to the goddess that is Wonder Woman in a bathing suit. It’s actually really disgusting.

So, tbh? I think it’s refreshing as FUCK that an artist and a writer is letting her be the young, sexy woman she is for once. Because it’s actually a pretty big problem that so many men try to paint her as “not hot.” And it’s gotten even worse now that she’s a mother. Because no one can conceive of a woman who complex in all these ways and serious and a mom and also sexual.

It’s the same reason why the bathtub scene in Batman v Superman was actually important and why the pearl clutching reaction to it by concerned fake ass” feminists” was frankly vile.. It’s actually vital that a woman like her gets the chance to be sexy sometimes and challenge the idea that career women are frigid. It’s turning the situation on it’s head bc there is nothing male gaze about her and her sexuality is on her terms.

I love the art. A lot. I think it’s the best art Lois had had in years. Clay Mann draws her like he knows she’s desirable and complex and smart all at once and not all artists do that. You can’t apply the same standards you would apply to Catwoman or even Wonder Woman to Lois because men sexualize Diana and Selina constantly whereas they strip Lois of her sexual power. It’s the same misogyny designed to control women but applied differently so the rules are different. You can’t treat sexy art of Lois the same way. Not without that context. Sexy isn’t always exploiting anymore than female nudity is always exploiting women. (see: Batman v Superman.). It’s all about context and who the woman is. And frankly all I see here is confidence.

Finally, I think it’s refreshing that Selina Kyle, a character constantly sexualized by men, is portrayed as more shy here while Lois is more confident. It shows that both women are more then they seem. Selina is in less conservative attire but she’s nervous and it shows. Lois is dressed a little more classically but she has nothing to hide. There is nothing exploitative about this art. It’s art that’s actually worthy of this character for once from an artist who recognizes that Lois is worthy of being desired and loved as opposed to cast off. But I think (?) part of the issue here is that we are so used to applying these rules to women who are hyper sexualized (a huge issue in comics media) that it’s hard to remember that the rules are different when it’s a woman like Lois who is actually impacted by misogyny in a different way. Does that make sense?