Don’t ask my why, but I have spent the last two hours watching this channel on youtube of a ton of instructional videos on how to pronounce American English – not because I have any real interest in phonetics and such, not to mention they are guides for people trying to learn (AM)English as a second language – except to be honest the best parts of these videos (aside from the huh, you’re right, there is three versions of the [t] sound) are the excited comments from non-native speakers on how helpful the videos are.

Tangentially, this video where a guy practices various accents and pointed out how the Texan accent(s) do videos amuses me because he explains what I’ve noticed I do with my vowels (sort of we make they into diphthongs? That mouth moment thing where widen and close is very true)

Leave a comment